United Theological Seminary

2018 Annual Report

Giving Societies

Our valued donor partners who have given in significant and consistent ways, over a lifetime or in the form of a legacy, are acknowledged through recognition programs.


Joshua Society

The Joshua Society is comprised of friends and alums who have provided outstanding financial leadership and support of the seminary’s mission. Joshua members have contributed cumulative gifts of $50,000 or more, and each year new Joshuas are recognized for their generosity and are presented with a replica statuette of “Joshua.” We extend deep gratitude to these individuals whose generosity has had a lasting impact on the life and vitality of United.


Bossard-Ward Society

The Bossard-Ward Society honors alums whose cumulative giving in all categories totals $10,000 or more. The society commemorates Jacob Bossard, a founder, faculty member and president of Mission House Seminary from 1875-1885, and Joseph Ward, who was instrumental in founding Yankton College and Yankton School of Theology. We honor and thank alums who support the important work of United and commitment to the vision of Bossard and Ward.


Barnabas Heritage Society

The Barnabas Heritage Society recognizes friends and alums of United who have included the seminary in their estate plans or made other deferred gifts. These individuals have chosen to include United in their wills, make life income gifts, or made the seminary the beneficiary of a retirement account or insurance policy. We greatly appreciate the long-term commitment of Barnabas Heritage Society members whose foresight will ensure the longevity and vitality of United.


Lydia Society

The Lydia Society recognizes friends and alums of United who, as recurring donors, give a minimum monthly gift of $50. Much like Lydia who was a first century business entrepreneur, church planter, and chief philanthropist of the Philippian congregation, recurring donors provide ongoing sustaining gifts that support United in living out its mission to educate leaders for transformation.